Bukhara area is situated in the south-west of the Republic of Uzbekistan. It borders on Kashkadaria area, Navoi and the Republic of Turkmenistan. It occupies the territory of 41,9 thousand square kilometers. Population is 1,9 million people. There are 11 regions in the area: Alat, Bukhara, Vabkent, Gijduvan, Jandar, Kagan, Karakul, Karaulbazar, Peshkun, Romitan, Shafirkan.

Administration centre is Bukhara city. It is situated in the south-west of Bukhara region, it’s population— more than 300 000 people. Bukhara area territory is a deserted plain with some hills.