The Republic of Uzbekistan, the “land of the Uzbeks”, located in the heart of Central Asia, borders with five countries –Kazakhstan to the north, Kyrgyzstan to the east, Tajikistan to the southeast, Afghanistan to the south and Turkmenistan to the southwest. There are two countries in the world namely Uzbekistan and Liechtenstein being the only double landlocked. The total population of Uzbekistan is 34 million (equivalent to 0.42% of the total world population). For the comparison the population of neighboring countries:

Kazakhstan 18,5 million;

Kyrgyzstan 6,2 million;

Tajikistan 9,1 million;

Afghanistan 36,4 million;

Turkmenistan 5,9 million.

Uzbekistan ranks number 44 in the list of countries by population. The population density in Uzbekistan is 76 per Km2 (197 people per mi2).The total land area is 448,900 square kilometers (roughly the size of Sweden or twice bigger than UK). 35.0 % of the population is urban (11,334,708 people in 2018). The median age in Uzbekistan is 26.7 years. The country lies between the two major rivers of Central Asia The Syr Darya (Arabs named it Jaxartes) and the Amu Darya (Greeks named it Oxus and Arabs Sayxun).

The capital of Uzbekistan is Tashkent with its 3 million population. In the northwestern part of Uzbekistan lies an autonomous Republic of Karakalpakstan and the land of the country is divided into twelve provinces namely Andijan, Bukhara, Jizzakh, Navai, Namangan, Samarkand, Syrdarya, Surkhandarya, Tashkent, Fargana, Kashkadarya and Khorazm.

More than 90% of the population is Muslim, 5% Russian Orthodox. There are also Buddhism and Judaism.

The official language of Uzbekistan is Uzbek. Russian, Tajik and Karakalpak are widely spoken.

The capital of Uzbekistan Tashkent city

Samarkand city, Registan square

Old Bukhara city, Poi Kalon Complex

Khiva city, Ichan Kala